

850 Ridge Avenue Suite 301 Pittsburgh, PA 15212

Office: (412) 321-8440 Fax: (412) 321-4088

Mission Statement

The National Club Softball Association (NCSA) is the only intercollegiate club softball league in the United States. We are driven to provide collegiate student-athletes with the opportunity to play competitive, organized college softball, and to continually improve this experience for all participants.

We strive to accomplish this by building lasting relationships based upon trust, commitment, dedication, understanding, and strong lines of communication.

History of the NCSA

The National Club Baseball Association (NCBA) was founded in 2000 by former Penn State Baseball Club player and president, Sandy Sanderson. The initial season had 34 club baseball teams from across the country competing in the league. In the years since its commencement, the league has grown tremendously. The NCBA now boasts two divisions (D1 and D2) and more than 220 teams. Division 1 teams compete for the chance to play in Regional Tournaments at the end of the season. The Regional winners move on to compete in the D1 World Series. Division 2 teams compete for the chance to play in the D2 World Series at the end of the season.

Upon seeing the success of the baseball league over the years, many club softball teams began to take notice and wondered why there was no league for them. Thus, the NCBA started the National Club Softball Association (NCSA).

The NCSA was founded in 2006 with 36 club softball teams from around the country joining for the inaugural spring 2007 season. The NCSA co-hosted the first World Series with the Virginia Tech club softball team on the Tech campus in Blacksburg, VA in April of 2007. The co-hosting of the World Series was an effort to bridge the old traditions of club softball (where the reigning champion held the right to host the invitational-style Nationals) with the future goals of the newly-established league. Subsequent World Series will be hosted solely by the NCSA at a neutral site.

Twelve qualifying teams (based on conference play during the regular season) competed in the 2007 World Series. The tournament lasted three days and at the conclusion, the University of Illinois was crowned the first NCSA National Champion.

Upon conclusion of the 2007 season, the teams voted to begin the following season in the fall in order to allow more time for conference games before the World Series as well to avoid conflicting with final exams. A top priority of the NCSA is to put on a World Series that every team will strive and be able to attend upon qualifying.

The 2007-2008 season began with 54 teams making up 14 conferences. At the conclusion of the season, the conference winners received automatic bids to the World Series, which was held in Cary, NC April 17-19, 2008. In 2009, the NCSA World Series was once again held in Cary, NC. The 2009-2010 season began with 61 teams making up again 14 conferences. The 2010 NCSA World Series featured the 14 conference winners and two atlarge bids and was held in Columbus, GA. The 2010-2011 season featured 80 teams, making up 16 conferences. The 2011-2012 season featured 91 teams, making up 18 conferences. The 2011-2012 season was the first season for Regional Playoffs. Regions made up of four conferences had a Regional Playoff, where the first and second place teams received bids to the 2012 NCSA World Series. The 2015-2016 season concluded with 111 teams made up of 20 conferences. The 2010-2016 NCSA World Series were all held in Columbus, GA at the South Commons Softball Complex. The most recent 2016 NCSA World Series featured six Regional Playoffs winners, one SOPAC conference winner, six Regional Runner-Ups and three At-Large Bids.